Fire Insurance Claim in Consumer Commission Rejected

Fire Insurance Claim Rejected: Consumer Commission Upholds Repudiation Due to Increased Fire Risk and Breach of Policy Warranties. South Mumbai Consumer Commission dismisses a ₹5.67 crore fire insurance claim, finding material increase in risk and breach of policy warranties concerning combustible structures and fire protection.

An insurance company’s wrongful repudiation, unjustified delay, or unfair reduction of a fire insurance claim constitutes a “deficiency in service” under the Consumer Protection Act, 2019, allowing policyholders to approach consumer dispute redressal commissions.

Legal Principles in Fire Insurance Claim in Consumer Commission

  • Surveyor Reports are Not Final: While statutory surveyor reports hold weight, consumer commissions (including the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission (NCDRC) and state/district forums) can look past or set aside a surveyor’s assessment if it is arbitrary, contradictory, or unsupported by independent evidence. [1, 2]

  • Burden of Proof for Fraud: If an insurer rejects a fire claim alleging arson, a deliberate act, or misrepresentation, the burden of proof lies strictly on the insurance company to substantiate it with cogent evidence rather than acting on mere suspicion. [1]

  • False Declarations: Landmark rulings (such as Supreme Court observations in 2026) affirm that if an insured party makes false declarations regarding stock or breaches fundamental policy conditions, the insurer is legally justified in repudiating the claim.

Essential Steps to File a Fire Insurance Claim in Consumer Commission Claim / Case

  • Intimate Immediately: Inform the insurance company in writing immediately after the fire incident and lodge a First Information Report (FIR) or Police Daily Diary Report (DDR). [1, 2]

  • Cooperate with Surveyors: Preserve damaged stock, debris, and records, and submit required bills, balance sheets, and fire brigade reports. [1]

  • Issue a Legal Notice: If the claim is wrongly repudiated or delayed unduly without reason, send a formal legal notice to the insurer. [1]

  • File a Consumer Complaint: Draft and file a complaint under the Consumer Protection Act citing “deficiency in service”, attaching policy papers, surveyor reports (if any), correspondence, and proof of loss

Can an insurance company repudiate a fire insurance claim when the fire initially originates in adjoining premises but the insured premises contain combustible structures and allegedly non-operational fire-protection arrangements?

Does the existence of business licences and a Fire Brigade NOC automatically establish that the insured has complied with every condition and warranty under an insurance policy?

Can an insurer rely upon a temporary structure made of bamboo and tarpaulin, unauthorised use of an open terrace and deficiencies in fire-protection arrangements to reject a substantial fire insurance claim?

The District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, South Mumbai, considered these questions in Consumer Complaint No. DC/AB1/482/CC/96/2021, decided on 23 September 2026.

Case Reference: Consumer Complaint No. DC/AB1/482/CC/96/2021
Court: District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, South Mumbai
Date of Decision: 23 September 2026
Coram: Hon’ble Mr. Pradip G. Kadu, Incharge President; Hon’ble Mrs. Pratibha R. Patil, Member; and Hon’ble Mrs. Gauri M. Kapse, Member.

The complaint arose from a fire that occurred at a restaurant situated at Kamala Mills, Lower Parel, Mumbai, on 29 December 2017. The insured business claimed approximately ₹5.67 crore towards the loss suffered in the incident.

The insurance company repudiated the claim, relying upon alleged material alteration of the insured premises, use of combustible materials, activities on the open terrace beyond the scope of permissions, and breach of warranties relating to construction and fire-protection systems.

After examining the insurance policy, survey reports, Fire Investigation material, regulatory permissions and a Government-appointed Committee Report, the Commission held that the complainant had failed to establish deficiency in service.

The consumer complaint was accordingly dismissed without costs.

Brief Facts of the Case

The complainant was operating a bar and restaurant business at Kamala Mills, Lower Parel, Mumbai.

For the purpose of its business, it had obtained a Business Protector Insurance Policy from the insurance company through an insurance broker on 25 July 2017.

The policy was numbered 215032/48/18/000146 and provided Fire and Special Perils coverage of ₹3 crore.

The total premium paid was ₹1,00,295.

Apart from fire and special perils coverage, the policy also included several other covers, including burglary, money insurance, plate glass, machinery breakdown, electronic equipment, fidelity guarantee and public liability.

The policy described the insured risk location as the second floor, including the open terrace, at the restaurant premises.

Occurrence of Fire

On 29 December 2017, at approximately 00:27 hours, a fire occurred at the insured premises.

The complainant’s case was that the fire originated in an adjoining restaurant and subsequently spread towards its premises due to wind velocity and flying embers.

The complainant relied upon the Fire Brigade Report and contended that the probable origin of the fire was flying embers from a lighted charcoal arrangement at the adjoining premises.

The fire allegedly caused extensive damage to the restaurant’s property, fixed assets and cash.

Insurance Claim and Repudiation

The complainant lodged an insurance claim for ₹5,67,25,045.

The insurer appointed a surveyor, which prepared various reports, including:

  • Preliminary Survey Report dated 30 December 2017.
  • Second Status Report dated 19 February 2018.
  • Final Survey Report dated 12 February 2019.

After examining the claim and the available documents, the insurance company repudiated the claim through a letter dated 12 March 2019.

The principal grounds for repudiation included alleged non-disclosure of material facts, increased risk at the insured premises, breach of policy conditions and warranties, and deficiencies in the fire-protection arrangements.

The complainant challenged the repudiation before the Consumer Commission.

Grounds on Which the Insurance Claim Was Repudiated

The insurer relied upon several circumstances concerning the condition and use of the insured premises.

1. Discrepancy in the Description of the Insured Premises

The insurance policy described the risk location as the second floor, including the open terrace.

However, according to the insurer, certain approval plans, licences, municipal documents and other records described the premises as being situated at the third-floor lower level.

The insurer treated this discrepancy as a material non-disclosure.

The complainant, on the other hand, argued that the description was merely a nomenclature or floor-numbering discrepancy and that the insurer had insured the very same premises.

Importantly, the Commission subsequently held that this discrepancy, when considered in isolation, was insufficient to establish that the fire had occurred at an uninsured location.

2. Temporary Terrace Structure Made of Combustible Materials

One of the most significant grounds for repudiation concerned a temporary monsoon shed erected over the open terrace.

According to the insurer and the surveyor, the shed was made of materials such as:

  • Bamboo sticks.
  • Tarpaulin.
  • Cloth.
  • Other combustible materials.

The insurer contended that the structure had been erected as a temporary monsoon arrangement but continued to remain in existence even in December 2017, long after the monsoon period.

The insurer argued that the continued existence of the shed materially altered the insured premises and increased the risk of fire.

It also relied upon the policy warranty requiring the insured building to satisfy the stipulated conditions concerning pucca construction and specified construction materials.

3. Alleged Unauthorised Use of the Open Terrace

The insurer further contended that the open terrace was being used for activities beyond the scope of the permissions and licences produced by the insured.

According to the surveyor’s observations relied upon by the insurer:

  • The liquor licence contemplated a permit room and bar within the enclosed RCC structure.
  • Liquor bottles and bar facilities were allegedly found on the open terrace.
  • Liquor storage was allegedly situated outside the approved enclosed area.
  • Dining arrangements were allegedly found on the terrace beyond the area covered by the relevant municipal permission.

The insurer argued that such activities increased the fire risk and were inconsistent with the permissions relied upon by the insured.

4. Hookah-Related Activities on the Terrace

The insurer also relied upon the alleged presence of hookah apparatuses throughout the terrace.

According to its case, the relevant smoking-zone permission covered approximately 200 square feet, whereas hookah-related activities were allegedly being conducted over a wider area.

It further contended that conducting such activities beneath a combustible bamboo and tarpaulin structure increased the risk of fire.

The complainant disputed this allegation and maintained that only herbal hookah was being served.

5. Non-Operational Fire-Protection System

Another important ground concerned the condition of the building’s fixed fire-fighting system.

The insurer relied upon the Fire Investigation Report, which recorded that the fixed fire-fighting system was not in working condition.

The insurer contended that this violated the express policy warranty requiring the fire-protection system at the insured premises to remain available and operational throughout the policy period.

The complainant, however, relied upon the Fire Brigade NOC and other certificates to establish that the premises had been inspected and that relevant permissions had been obtained.

Contentions of the Complainant

The complainant challenged the repudiation on several grounds.

It argued that the fire originated in the adjoining premises and spread to its restaurant due to flying embers.

It further contended that:

  1. The insurer had inspected the premises and was aware of their layout and condition.
  2. The temporary terrace shed did not cause the fire and could not automatically be treated as a material alteration increasing the insured risk.
  3. The business possessed relevant licences, approvals and No Objection Certificates.
  4. The Fire Brigade had issued an NOC concerning the use of the open terrace for serving food.
  5. The insurer could not subsequently rely upon circumstances that were allegedly known to it when the insurance policy was issued.
  6. The surveyor’s report was arbitrary, biased and unreliable.
  7. The repudiation amounted to deficiency in service and unfair trade practice.

The complainant also relied upon the Fire Brigade Report and certain criminal acquittal orders in support of its case.

Defence of the Insurance Company

The insurance company denied deficiency in service and maintained that the claim had been examined in accordance with the terms and conditions of the policy.

It contended that the claim was not rejected merely because a fire had occurred.

According to the insurer, the insured premises had undergone material changes and were being used in a manner that substantially increased the risk beyond what had been contemplated under the insurance policy.

The insurer relied upon the survey reports, Fire Investigation material, Government-appointed Committee Report, licences and permissions, and the policy warranties.

It specifically argued that the policy covered an open terrace and not a terrace converted into a covered structure using combustible materials.

It also submitted that the complainant had failed to establish compliance with the express warranties relating to construction and the operational condition of the fire-protection system.

Issues Framed by the Consumer Commission

The Commission framed the following principal issues for determination:

  1. Whether the complainant proved that the insurance company committed deficiency in service by repudiating the insurance claim through its letter dated 12 March 2019.
  2. Whether repudiation on the grounds of breach of Condition No. 18(a) and the policy warranties relating to pucca construction and an operational fire-protection system was unjustified.
  3. Whether the complainant was entitled to the insurance claim of ₹5,67,25,045, together with interest, compensation and litigation costs.

The Commission answered all three issues in the negative.

Findings and Reasoning of the Consumer Commission

1. Repudiation Was Not Based Merely on the Occurrence of Fire

The Commission observed that the principal question was whether the repudiation was justified in view of the terms and conditions of the insurance policy and the oral and documentary evidence.

It noted that the insurer had relied upon several circumstances concerning the condition and use of the insured premises.

The repudiation was therefore not based merely upon the occurrence of fire but upon the insurer’s case that the insured premises had undergone material changes and that the relevant policy conditions and warranties had not been complied with.

2. Condition No. 18(a): Material Alteration and Increase in Risk

A central provision considered by the Commission was Condition No. 18(a) of the insurance policy.

The condition provided:

“Cover under this policy shall cease to attach: (a) if the Insured shall cause or suffer any material alteration to be made in the premises or anything to be done whereby the risk is increased.”

The Commission examined whether the condition and use of the insured premises amounted to an increase in the insured risk.

It held that the initial source of ignition and the condition of the insured premises were two distinct matters.

Even if the initial fire had originated from flying embers in the adjoining premises, that circumstance did not automatically establish that the insured had complied with the contractual conditions and warranties.

The Commission found that the survey report, Fire Investigation material and Government-appointed Committee Report, read together, supported the finding that the terrace had been covered with highly combustible materials and that those materials facilitated the rapid spread of fire.

Consequently, the mere fact that the initial ignition occurred outside the insured premises was insufficient to establish compliance with Condition No. 18(a).

3. Combustible Terrace Covering Was a Material Circumstance

The Commission considered the evidence concerning the temporary terrace structure made of bamboo, tarpaulin and other combustible materials.

It noted that the surveyor had treated the continued existence and use of the structure as a circumstance that altered the nature of the premises and increased the fire risk.

The Fire Investigation material also referred to combustible materials, including bamboo, tarpaulin, synthetic cloth and curtains, and recorded that the fire spread rapidly through such materials.

The Government-appointed Committee Report was also considered.

According to that report, the fire originated from flying embers from hookah activity in the adjoining restaurant. At the same time, the Committee recorded that the unauthorised covering of the insured terrace with highly flammable material caught fire from the common-wall side and that the fire spread rapidly throughout the terrace.

The Commission treated this report as relevant contemporaneous official material supporting the existence of the combustible terrace covering and the rapid spread of fire.

It clarified that the Committee Report was not a final adjudication of the insured’s contractual liability, but its observations were relevant when read with the survey and Fire Investigation material.

4. Fire Brigade NOC Did Not Establish Compliance With Every Policy Condition

The complainant relied upon the Fire Brigade NOC concerning the use of the open-to-sky terrace for serving food.

However, the Commission observed that permission for serving food on the open terrace could not, by itself, be treated as approval for every activity allegedly being conducted there.

In particular, the existence of the NOC did not automatically establish that liquor storage, bar operations and hookah-related activities were authorised or that all contractual conditions and warranties had been complied with.

The Commission therefore distinguished between the existence of a regulatory permission for a particular activity and compliance with the separate contractual obligations under an insurance policy.

5. Breach of the Fire-Protection System Warranty

The Commission also examined the allegation that the fixed fire-fighting system was not operational at the time of the incident.

The insurer relied upon the Fire Investigation Report recording that the fixed fire-fighting system was not in working condition.

The complainant relied upon the Fire Brigade NOC and other certificates, arguing that the premises had been inspected.

However, the Commission held that an earlier certificate or NOC did not, by itself, establish that the fixed fire-fighting system was operational on the date of the fire.

It further observed that the complainant had not produced sufficient independent technical evidence to satisfactorily displace the finding regarding the condition of the fire-protection system.

Accordingly, the allegation concerning breach of the fire-protection warranty could not be treated as wholly unsupported.

6. Earlier Inspection by the Insurer Did Not Automatically Waive Policy Conditions

The complainant argued that the insurer’s Risk Engineer had inspected the premises and that the insurer had accepted the risk with knowledge of its condition.

The Commission considered this submission but held that mere inspection, in the absence of an express endorsement or waiver modifying the relevant policy conditions or warranties, did not establish that the insurer had agreed to cover a subsequent material alteration or increased risk.

The evidence did not establish any specific written waiver of Condition No. 18(a) or the relevant warranties.

Therefore, the plea of waiver or acquiescence could not be accepted merely on the basis of the alleged inspection.

7. General Business Licences Did Not Establish Compliance With Specific Insurance Conditions

The Commission examined the licences and permissions produced by the complainant.

It observed that the relevant question was not merely whether the complainant possessed licences to operate a restaurant.

The more specific issue was whether the actual extent and manner of use of the open terrace, including the construction, liquor storage, bar activity and hookah activity, corresponded with the permissions and complied with the express conditions and warranties of the insurance policy.

The surveyor had recorded discrepancies between the approved areas and the actual use of the terrace.

The Government-appointed Committee had also recorded apparent unauthorised construction and use of terrace areas.

Accordingly, the production of general licences and permissions did not, by itself, establish compliance with the specific contractual conditions and warranties relied upon by the insurer.

8. Criminal Acquittal Did Not Automatically Determine Insurance Liability

The complainant also relied upon acquittal orders passed in criminal proceedings.

The Commission observed that an acquittal in criminal proceedings did not, by itself, determine the contractual liability of the insurer under the insurance policy.

The consumer dispute concerned the contractual obligations of the parties and had to be decided on the oral and documentary evidence produced before the Commission.

Therefore, the acquittal orders could not, by themselves, displace the documentary evidence concerning the condition of the insured premises.

9. Floor-Description Discrepancy Alone Was Insufficient

An important aspect of the decision was the Commission’s treatment of the discrepancy concerning the floor description of the insured premises.

The policy referred to the second floor, including the open terrace, whereas certain other documents described the premises as being on the third-floor lower level.

The Commission held that this discrepancy, considered in isolation, might not be sufficient to establish that the fire occurred at a wholly uninsured premises, particularly because the policy itself specifically referred to the open terrace.

However, the Commission clarified that the repudiation had to be examined on the basis of all the other grounds as well.

It found that the remaining grounds concerning the combustible terrace structure, increased fire risk and non-operational fire-protection system were supported by the documentary evidence.

10. Surveyor’s Report Was a Relevant Piece of Evidence

The Commission observed that a surveyor’s report was not conclusive by itself but constituted relevant documentary evidence that had to be appreciated along with the other material on record.

In the present case, the surveyor’s conclusions were not based upon a solitary circumstance.

They were supported by consideration of:

  • The insurance policy and its conditions.
  • Regulatory permissions and licences.
  • Inspection material.
  • The construction and use of the terrace.
  • Fire Investigation material.
  • The condition of the fire-protection arrangements.
  • The Government-appointed Committee Report.

The Commission further noted that the complainant had not produced equally cogent independent technical evidence establishing that the combustible structure was absent, that the fire-protection system was operational or that the actual use of the terrace fully corresponded with the permissions relied upon.

On an overall appreciation of the evidence, the Commission found that the complainant had failed to establish that the repudiation was arbitrary, unsupported or contrary to the terms of the policy.

Final Decision of the Consumer Commission

The District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, South Mumbai, dismissed the consumer complaint.

The Commission held that:

  1. The complainant failed to prove deficiency in service by the insurance company in repudiating the claim.
  2. The complainant failed to establish that repudiation on the grounds of breach of Condition No. 18(a) and the relevant policy warranties was unjustified.
  3. The complainant was not entitled to the claimed insurance amount of ₹5,67,25,045.
  4. The complainant was not entitled to interest on the claimed amount.
  5. The claims for ₹50 lakh compensation for mental agony and harassment and ₹5.5 lakh towards litigation costs were also rejected.

Final Order: Consumer Case No. 96/2021 was dismissed without costs.

Legal Significance of the Judgment

This decision is significant for businesses holding fire insurance policies, particularly restaurants, hotels, commercial establishments and other premises involving open terraces or temporary structures.

The judgment highlights several important aspects of insurance law and consumer disputes.

1. Compliance With Policy Conditions Is Essential

A business holding fire insurance coverage must ensure that the actual condition and use of the insured premises remain consistent with the terms, conditions and warranties of the policy.

2. Increased Risk May Be Relevant Even Where Initial Ignition Occurs Elsewhere

The Commission distinguished the source of initial ignition from the condition of the insured premises.

The fact that a fire originates in adjoining premises does not automatically establish compliance with the insured’s contractual obligations.

3. Temporary Structures Can Have Insurance Consequences

Temporary structures made of combustible materials may become relevant to the assessment of increased fire risk, particularly where the policy contains specific construction warranties and conditions concerning material alteration.

4. Regulatory Permissions and Insurance Compliance Are Different Questions

Possession of a business licence or a Fire Brigade NOC does not automatically establish compliance with every insurance policy condition.

The actual activity, permitted area and physical condition of the premises must also be examined.

5. Fire-Protection Systems Must Remain Operational

Where a policy contains an express warranty requiring fire-protection systems to remain operational, an insured business should maintain proper records of inspections, maintenance and operational testing.

6. A Surveyor’s Report Must Be Assessed With the Entire Evidence

The Commission did not treat the survey report as conclusive in isolation. It examined the report alongside the policy documents, Fire Investigation material, permissions and Government-appointed Committee Report.

7. Earlier Inspection Does Not Automatically Amount to Waiver

An insurer’s inspection of premises does not necessarily mean that every subsequent alteration or deviation from policy conditions is accepted.

The Commission emphasised the importance of an express endorsement or waiver where modification of policy conditions or warranties is claimed.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Q1. Can an insurance company reject a fire insurance claim if the fire originates in adjoining premises?

The source of ignition is relevant, but it may not be the only consideration. In this case, the Commission examined whether the condition and use of the insured premises had materially increased the risk and whether the relevant policy conditions and warranties had been breached.

Q2. What is Condition 18(a) in this case?

Condition 18(a) provided that insurance cover would cease to attach if the insured caused or suffered a material alteration to the premises or anything to be done whereby the risk was increased.

Q3. Can a temporary bamboo or tarpaulin shed affect fire insurance coverage?

It may become relevant where the structure materially increases the fire risk or breaches an express policy warranty. The consequences depend upon the actual policy terms and the evidence in the particular case.

Q4. Does a Fire Brigade NOC guarantee payment of a fire insurance claim?

No. A Fire Brigade NOC does not automatically establish compliance with every contractual condition or warranty in an insurance policy. The scope of the permission and the actual use of the premises must be examined.

Q5. Does an insurer’s pre-insurance inspection prevent it from later repudiating a claim?

Not automatically. The Commission held that mere inspection, without an express endorsement or waiver modifying the relevant policy conditions or warranties, did not establish acceptance of a subsequent material alteration or increased risk.

Q6. Is a surveyor’s report conclusive in an insurance dispute?

The Commission observed that a surveyor’s report is not conclusive by itself, but is relevant documentary evidence that must be assessed along with the other material on record.

Q7. What was the amount of the insurance claim rejected in this case?

The complainant had claimed ₹5,67,25,045. The Commission dismissed the complaint and held that the complainant was not entitled to the claimed amount, interest, compensation or litigation costs.

Q8. Did the Consumer Commission award any compensation or costs?

No. The consumer complaint was dismissed without costs, and the claims for compensation and litigation expenses were rejected.

Conclusion

The decision of the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, South Mumbai, underscores the importance of strict attention to the terms and conditions of commercial fire insurance policies.

The judgment demonstrates that the existence of an insurance policy and the occurrence of a fire do not, by themselves, establish an automatic entitlement to indemnification.

The physical condition of the insured premises, construction materials, actual business activities, regulatory permissions and compliance with express policy warranties may all become relevant when the insurer assesses a claim.

For businesses operating restaurants, bars, hotels and commercial establishments, the decision serves as a reminder to ensure that temporary structures, terrace usage, fire-protection arrangements and other material aspects of the premises remain consistent with the insurance policy and applicable permissions.

Case Reference: Consumer Complaint No. DC/AB1/482/CC/96/2021, District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, South Mumbai, decided on 23 September 2026.

Disclaimer: This article is intended for general legal information and educational purposes only. It is based on the Consumer Commission’s judgment discussed above and should not be treated as legal advice. The applicability of the decision depends upon the wording of the relevant insurance policy, the evidence available and the facts of each individual dispute.

By Satish Mishra Adv (99888-17966)

Leave a Comment

Call Us